top of page


What are the Chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning "wheel" or "disk". In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this refers to the wheels of energy or energy centres throughout the body.


There are seven main chakras, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualise each chakra in the body, just imagine a swirling wheel of energy. This energy is known as Prana or the vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive.


Each of the chakras connects not only with the physical body but also with our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. And since everything is vibrating, changing and moving, it’s essential that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned, and fluid.

If there is a block, energy can't flow freely; compare the health of a fast flowing mountain stream to a stagnant pond, full of bacteria and putrid water. When a blockage is not cleared, it can manifest until it presents as a physical ailment.


Since mind, body, soul, and spirit are interconnected, awareness of an imbalance in one area will help bring the others back into balance.


Each chakra has a colour associated with it, a vowel sound and a note when sounding the vowel. By sounding each chakra in turn, you can reset the rate at which the chakra is spinning to the natural frequency, thus restoring a balance throughout the body. It also feels great!


The Root Chakra

Colour Red

Vowel sound "Uh"

Sound in note C

Located at the base of the spine. Governing stability, security, and our basic needs. It encompasses the first three vertebrae, the bladder, and the colon. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and fearless.


The Sacral Chakra

Colour Orange

Vowel Sound "Ooo"

Sound in note D

This is our creativity and sexual center. It is located just below the navel, and is responsible for our sexual organs and creative expression.


The Solar Plexus Chakra

Colour yellow

Vowel sound "Oh"

Sound in note E

The solar plexus chakra is all about the fire in your belly. It covers the area from the navel to the breastbone. The third chakra is our source of personal power and controls the metabolism and digestive system.


The Heart Chakra

Colour green

Vowel sound "Ah"

Sound note in F

Located at the heart center, this chakra unites the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. The heart chakra is our source of love and connection and governs the heart and lungs.


The Throat Chakra

Colour blue

Vowel sound "Eye"

Sound in note G

This chakra, located in the area of the throat, is our source of verbal communication and the ability to speak our truth. The throat chakra includes the neck, thyroid, jaw, mouth, and tongue.


The Third Eye Chakra

Colour purple

Vowel sound "Aye"

Sound in note A

The Third eye chakra is found in between the eyebrows. It is our center of intuition . Linking in with our face, eyes and forehead.


The Crown Chakra

Colour violet/white

Vowel sound "Ee"

Sound in note B

This chakra is located at the crown of the head. This is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and ultimately, to the Source. It is located at the crown of the head.


Aligning the Chakras


Just having an awareness to which of your chakras are out of balance, is key to aligning them. Our bodies are in constant flux between balance and imbalance, but by sitting quietly and focussing your attention on each chakra in turn, you can sense each chakra, and come to learn how they alter.

Mantra and chanting is a powerful tool, which can be used to re align the chakras and frequency at which they naturally vibrate. Read more about mantra and chanting here you can book a mantra healing here.

bottom of page